All of your freedoms... All of the time.

“Our goal is nothing more nor less than a world set free in our lifetime…”
— Libertarian Party National Platform Preamble

LPSD Convention Results

We apologize this post took so long for us to publish, we have been impatiently waiting for the Secretary of States office to certify our slate of Candidates before we announced them to the world. The LPSD State Convention recently took place April 23rd at the Cedar Shore Resort & Conference Center in Oacoma SD.

So without any further delay we would like to announce that the Libertarian Party of South Dakota will have Eight candidates on the ballot this November. Originally it appeared that we would have a record number of candidates this year with eleven total. Unfortunately one of those candidates Amanda Froelich was a couple months shy of the residency requirement of 2 years after recently moving back home to South Dakota the previous summer. We also had an issue with the recent Legislative redistricting that took place and unfortunately lost two candidates to that, Greg Baldwin who is no longer part of District 17 and now part of District 18 and Chandler Losing who is no longer in District 6 and is now part of District 13. That mistake was very unfortunate and completely avoidable, with Chairman Greg Baldwin having this to say about the situation, ” It was my fault for not checking the redistricting maps better, I apologize and take full responsibility for that mistake on my part.”

Now back to the Candidates we do have on the ballot, here is the official list:

Tracey Quint – Governor

Works as an Outreach Coordinator at a local non profit organization and lives in Sioux Falls.

Tracey Quint

Ashley Strand – Lt. Governor

Nurse’s Aid and lives in Rapid City

May be an image of 1 person, standing and eyeglasses
Ashley Strand

Collin Duprel – United States House of Representatives

Rancher from Vale / Sturgis area

No description available.
Collin Duprel

Tamara J Lesnar – United States Senate 

Small Business Owner from Grenville

Tamara Lesnar

Rene Meyer – State Auditor

Realtor from Hartford

Rene Meyer

Kurt Evans – Secretary of State 

Teacher from Wessington Springs

Kurt Evans

Sean Natchke – District 29 State House 

Pilot and Heavy Equipment Operator from Sturgis

May be an image of 1 person and outdoors
Sean Natchke

Darren Freidel – District 33 State Senate

Cyber Security Engineer from Summerset

Darren Freidel

We are pleased that the Libertarian Party of South Dakota can once again be an alternative voice and choice for the voters all across South Dakota!

Also notable to mention that Kent Wilsey our West River Regional Coordinator resigned the day of Convention and Amanda Froelich was voted in as his replacement. She became the new West River Coordinator for the LPSD and will serve out the remainder of his term until 2023. We would have loved to have her as a candidate this year but we are happy that she has decided to stick around and work with us to support our current slate of candidates and help the Party continue to grow!

Amanda Froelich

We also had a couple great guest speakers at the event including Ned Horsted Executive Director at Cannabis Industry Association of South Dakota (pictured below).

Originally scheduled to attend was Matthew Schweich Campaign Director of South Dakotans for Better Marijuana Laws, unfortunately he could not attend but he did send us a short video we played with his opposition to Amendment C.

Speaking in favor of Amendment C and also our Keynote speaker for the evening was Lisa Marie Nolen (pictured below), she is the Deputy State Director of Americans for Prosperity South Dakota. Huge thank you to Lisa for speaking and also for providing snacks and Taquitos!!

More information about candidates and campaigns coming very soon!

Connect With Us

Executive Committee

Tracey Quint
State Chair

Gideon Oakes

Ashley Castro

Nicholas Castro

Greg Baldwin
Communications Director

Uriah Luallin
West River Coordinator

Nicholas Machuca
East River Coordinator

Devin Saxon
Sioux River Coordinator